TEDC Honors Cities with Community Economic Development Awards

TexasEconomicDevCouncillogoThe Texas Economic Development Council (TEDC) announced the recipients of its annual Community Economic Development Awards (CEDA) for 2017.

The awards will be presented at a special awards luncheon to be held Thursday, October 19th at the TEDC’s Annual Conference at the J W Marriott Hotel in Houston, Texas.

The Community Economic Development Award program recognizes exceptional contributions of TEDC member cities toward the economic vitality of their communities and the state of Texas through creativity, leadership, and partnership in the achievement of business retention, business recruitment and community improvement.

The CEDA committee received applications from a record forty (40) member communities. Nominees then judged on five criteria: innovativeness, transferability, community commitment and leverage, measured objectives, and secondary benefits.

Communities nominated included:
Population Less than 10,000 – Big Lake, Cisco, Chandler, Commerce, Hutchins, Rockdale, Seminole, Yoakum and Van Alstyne.  Population 10,001 to 20,000 – Anna, Athens, Bay City, Brenham, Brownwood, Converse, Forney, Hidalgo, Katy, Sulphur Springs/Hopkins County and Waller County. Population 20,001 to 50,000 – Balch Springs, Galveston, Greenville, Keller, Rockwall, The Colony and Weslaco. Population 50,001 to 100,000 – Allen, Conroe, Rowlett and Sugar Land. Population 100,001 to 250,000 – Frisco, Mesquite, Round Rock and Wichita Falls/Burkburnett. Population 250,001 and Above – Arlington, Fort Worth, Katy Area, Lubbock and San Antonio.

The 2017 CEDA recipients are:

Population Less than 10,000:      Cisco
Population 10,001 to 20,000:       Sulphur Springs/Hopkins County
Population 20,001 to 50,000:       Greenville
Population 50,001 to 100,000:     Conroe
Population 100,001 to 250,000:   Wichita Falls/City of Burkburnett
Population 250,001 and Above:     San Antonio

“Our Community Economic Development Award is one of the ways in which our organization honors the excellent work done by our communities, their leaders, and their economic development professionals,” noted Fred Welch, 2017 Chair of the Texas Economic Development Council. “Each community nominated achieved excellence in economic development and substantially improved the economic base of their respective regions. The recipient communities in each population category were recognized for extraordinary accomplishments in meeting the criteria set forth in the nomination process.”

The TEDC provides information, education and legislative services to its members to foster the expansion of existing businesses, the location of new firms and the development of strategies that promote a positive business climate in Texas. With more than 830 members, the TEDC is the largest state economic development association in the nation.