Runoff Elections in GOP County Races in Eastland & Palo Pinto Counties & HD 60

After the final but unofficial votes were gathered Tuesday night, Eastland County and Palo Pinto County each had races that won’t be decided until the May Republican Primary runoff election.

With no opposition on the Democratic ballots, all other county-level seats were decided with Tuesday’s primary races in both Eastland County and Palo Pinto County.


Eastland County voted in a new sheriff. In a 3-way race, Chad Roberts came away with 1921 votes (52.60%), DonBraly received 1050 (28.75%) and Robert Ralls received 681 (18.65%) votes.

Larry Jernigan Sr. received 1242 (57.31%) of the votes to continue as the Precinct 1 Constable. Scot McDade received 925 (42.69%).

With five people entered in the Eastland County Commissioner, Precinct 2 race, no one was able to hit the required 50% mark. James Crenshaw, who was appointed commissioner in December to fill the unexpired term left vacant when Martin Gohlke resigned, had the most votes with 342 (35.85%). A primary runoff election will be held May 26th between Crenshaw and Jay Gentry who received 225 votes (23.58%). Other candidates were Wendell Tipton 174 (18.24%), Jeff Thackerson 109 (11.43%), and Jim Burleson 104 (10.90%).


In Palo Pinto County, a runoff election will be held between Jonna Banks, who received 1910 (40.98%) votes and 2nd place, Sherry Roberson who received 1554 (33.34%) of the votes. Stacie Frye received 1197 (25.68%) votes.

Kriste Burnett received 2817 (64.10%) votes giving her a 2nd term as Palo Pinto County District Attorney. Her opponent, Kristina Massey received 1578 (35.90%) votes.

Maegan Kostiha, who was appointed County Attorney last May to fill the unexpired term, received 2718 (60.04%) to defeat Cynthia Dillard Ince, 1809 (39.96%) votes.


Both counties are represented by Texas House District 60. Jon Francis from Cisco received the most votes 15,418 (45.9%) but not enough to keep from having to face Glenn Rogers from Graford, 14,706 (43.78%) again in a runoff in May. Other candidates in that race were Kellye Sorelle 2,218 (6.6%) and Christopher Perricone 1,246 (3.71%).

With no opposition on the Democratic ballot, all Republican primary election/primary runoff election winners at the county-level and the HD 60 GOP winner will be unopposed in the November election.

Eastland County Primary Election Results

Palo Pinto County Primary Election Results