Rogers Wins HD-60 Republican Runoff, Sets Focus on 87th Legislative Session

MINERAL WELLS, TX – Ten months of intense campaigning came to a close last night as Dr. Glenn Rogers (R-Mineral Wells) was declared the winner of the Texas House District 60 primary runoff election. Rogers will replace retiring Rep. Mike Lang, who opted not to run for re-election last December.

No Democrat or third-party candidate will oppose Rogers in the November general election, so the runoff serves as the de-facto election for the District 60 seat.

“This has been a long 10 months,” Rogers said. “I am humbled and appreciative that my neighbors across House District 60 trust me to represent them in Austin on the issues that matter most.”

With the runoff behind him, Dr. Rogers now sets his sights to the upcoming legislative session. “The COVID pandemic has impacted all aspects of our state,” said Rogers. “Not only do our hospitals have an unprecedented challenge before them, but our schools are facing uncertainty for the upcoming school year and our state and local economies are being weighed down by unemployment caused by the pandemic.”

“When I decided to run for this seat, I was focused on addressing issues confronting our public education system, working to provide innovative healthcare solutions for our rural communities, and bringing jobs and life back to our local economies. These issues are even more pressing now and addressing them will be a priority for me,” Rogers said.

Dr. Rogers now shifts his immediate focus to preparing for the upcoming session. He plans to continue meeting with school, city, and county officials to familiarize himself with the unique challenges facing House District 60. Rogers has already built working relationships with many state legislators, including Rep. Drew Darby (R – San Angelo) and Rep. Stan Lambert (R – Abilene).

The 87th Texas Legislature gavels into session on January 12, 2021.

House District 60 is comprised of Brown, Callahan, Coleman, Eastland, Hood, Shackelford, Stephens, and Palo Pinto Counties.